History - 1905 a 1919



What was done by Esteban Baglietto, Alfredo Scarpatti, Santiago Sana and brothers Teodoro and Juan Antonio Farenga on 3April 1905 was not much different from what, in those times, other groups of friends used to do in Argentina and that was to create an an irrepressible passion for football and build a team.

The peculiarity of this case was that they were unknowingly starting something that would become the greatest club in the country, a club that would become a global giant and a passion to a multitude of fans. The meeting in Baglietto´s house, which was interrupted by unexpected visitors, was moved outdoors where there was a bench in the Plaza Solís. Here is where they decided on the name, which was borrowed from the neighborhood with the addition of ‘Juniors’ that gave it a touch of English prestige which was customary in those times. Baglietto was appointed as president. Then, on 21 April 1905, on the grounds of Independencia Sud, Boca thrashed Mariano Moreno 4-0 in the first game of its history. A taste of what was to come.



Boca had a name, a pitch to play on and a handful of Italian immigrants who supported them with a passion, but it lacked a colour to identify them with.

In those times football kits were sewn up roughly, so Farengas’ sister, Manuela, sewed a few black stripes on white shirts to allow them to have a kit for their first games. The only restriction was that they couldn’t be red and white because of Alumni, the dominating English club in that era. Boca also wore sky blue and for a short time thin blue stripes until eventually they adopted blue and yellow, inspired by the colours of the Swedish flag ofa ship which was at that time docked in La Boca. Juan Bricchetto, who worked on the bridge where the ships passed under, gave them the idea. In the beginning it was blue with a yellow stripe but later in 1913, to avoid confusion with the direction of the yellow stripe, it was eventually decided to adopt the golden one that crosses the chest of every Boca fan.



On 13 April 1913 Boca made its official debut in the First Division against Estudiantil Porteño in Ituzaingó, which ended with a 4-1 win.

Next was the first Argentine football derby between Boca and River who were both from the district. They had a rivalry that had grown over the early years of competition and hence it became the ‘derby of derbies’of Argentine football and one of the most watched shows in the world, especially if played at La Bombonera, which was considered by the foreign press as an incredible show for tourists visiting Argentina. The first official match in history was a friendly which took place in Racing and River won by 2-1. Before that game, there were also other matches, always friendlies, which helped to shape a rivalry which would become a symbol of Argentine football.



Despite the difficulties in finding their own ground in the early days, the popularity of Boca continued to grow.

Since its foundation in that square and the first game on the field of Independencia Sud, Boca played on a ground bordering Carboneras Wilson and then left the district to briefly settle in Wilde until a loss of shareholders (1,500 to 300) forced them look for a ground back in La Boca. The club first settled between Ministro Brin, Senguel, Caboto and Tununyan, and then in 1922 the club finally took root once and for allin Brandsen, Del Valle Iberlucea, Aristóbulo Del Valle and the Ferrocarril Sud tracks. The club achieved its first title in 1919 and this coincided with the explosion of players that stood out, that had guts and a ‘gritty’ style which then became the pioneers of the Xeneize (Genoese). These players were goalkeeper AméricoTesoriere, icon Pedro Calomino and brave heart Alfredo Garassino. There in La Boca, in a stadium with stands of wood, came the first successes of the golden era of the Twenties. In total they won six First Division titles (1919, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926 and 1930), plus three Carlos Ibarguren Cups (1919, 1923 and 1924), the Competition Cup (1919 and 1925), the Copa de Honor (1920) and the Encouragement Cup (1926).